Ph.D. Job Market Candidates

Below is an alphabetical list of Yale Ph.D. students and recent graduates currently on the job market. Please feel free to contact them, their advisors, or the DGS for additional information. 

Any Yale Graduate Student wishing to be added to this page can do so by filling out our PhD Job Market Candidates submission form.

Placement Officers

Ian Turner
77 Prospect Street
ISPS
Phone: (203) 432-2293
ian.turner@yale.edu

Elisabeth Wood
115 Prospect Street
Rosenkranz Hall
Phone: (203) 432-6107
elisabeth.wood@yale.edu

Current Students

Daniel A. N. Goldstein

Personal Website (link is external)
Dissertation Title: “Reversals of State Capacity: Norms and Political Disruption”
Areas of Concentration: Comparative Political Economy, Formal Theory, Methods
References: Milan Svolik (chair), Ian Turner, Frances Rosenbluth, Didac Queralt
Email:  daniel.a.goldstein@yale.edu

Fahd Humayun

Personal Website (link is external)
Dissertation Title: “Democratic Institutionalisation & International Crisis Behaviour”
Areas of Concentration: International Relations, Comparative Politics
References: Steven Wilkinson, Alexandre Debs, Vipin Narang, Nuno Monteiro
Email:  fahd.humayun@yale.edu

Annabelle Hutchinson

Dissertation Title: “When White Men Lose Power: Gender, Race, and Class in American Politics”
Areas of Concentration: Gender, Race, and Inequality; American Politics; Political Economy
References: Frances Rosenbluth, Ebonya Washington, Greg Huber, and Sarah Khan
Email: annabelle.hutchinson@yale.edu

Alexander Kolokotronis

Dissertation Title: “Who Governs Schools: Alienation and Participatory Democracy in Racial Capitalist New Haven”
Areas of Concentration: Political Theory; Comparative Politics; Historical Research Methods; Democratic Theory
References: James C. Scott, Elisabeth Wood, Daniel Martinez HoSang
Email:  alexander.kolokotronis@yale.edu

Darren Nah

Personal Website (link is external)
Dissertation Title: “Hegel’s Institutional Enlightenment: A Study of the Political Institutions of Hegel’s Philosophy of Right
Areas of Concentration: Political Theory; Comparative Politics; Historical Research Methods; Democratic Theory
References: Steven B. Smith (Chair), Bryan Garsten, Hélène Landemore, Giulia Oskian
Email: darren.nah@yale.edu

Vatsal Naresh

Personal Website (link is external)
Dissertation Title: “Democracy’s Violence”
Areas of Concentration: Political Theory (Democratic Theory, Violence, Realism, Constitutionalism, Identity (Race, Caste, Ethnicity), Religion, South Asian Political Thought); Comparative Politics
References: Karuna Mantena, Hélène Landemore, Giulia Oskian, Ian Shapiro
Email: vatsal.naresh@yale.edu

Armando Perez-Gea

Personal Website (link is external)
Dissertation Title: “An Aristotelian Response to the State as the Monopoly of Legitimate Violence”
Areas of Concentration: Political Theory
References: Bryan Garsten, Ian Shapiro, David Charles, Stephen Darwall
Email: armando.perez-gea@yale.edu

Shikhar Singh

Personal Website (link is external)
Dissertation Title: “Does Programmatic Distribution Weaken Clientelism and Ethnic Voting? Evidence from India”
Areas of Concentration: Comparative Politics, Quantitative Methods, American Politics
References:  Gregory Huber, Susan Stokes, Steven Wilkinson (Chair)
Email: shikhar.singh@yale.edu

James Sundquist

Personal Website (link is external)
Dissertation Title: “Three Essays on Chinese Sovereign Lending”
Areas of Concentration: International Organizations, China, International Political Economy
References:  Frances Rosenbluth, Daniel Mattingly, Didac Queralt
Email:  james.sundquist@yale.edu

Ariel Yingqi Tang

Dissertation Title: “The Apprenticeship of Selfhood: Bildung and the Politics of Education”
Areas of Concentration: Political Theory
References: Bryan Garsten, Steven Smith, Isaac Nakhimovsky
Email: yingqi.tang@yale.edu

Jennifer Wu

Personal Website (link is external)
Dissertation Title: “The Politics of Asian-ness: Understanding the Importance of National Origin and Group Membership on the Political Representation”
Areas of Concentration: American politics, race and ethnicity politics, political behavior, Asian American politics
References: Gregory Huber, Jacob Hacker, Allison Harris
Email: jennifer.wu@yale.edu

Hikaru Yamagishi

Personal Website (link is external)
Dissertation Title: “Three Essays on Democratic Representation in Japan”
Areas of Concentration: Comparative Politics, Comparative Political Economy, Japanese Politics
References:  Frances McCall Rosenbluth, Isabela Mares, Didac Queralt
Email:  hikaru.yamagishi@yale.edu

Recent Graduates

Tyler Bowen

Personal Website (link is external)
Dissertation Title: “The Logic of Escalation and the Benefits of Conventional Power Preponderance in a Nuclear World”
Areas of Concentration: International Security, Nuclear Politics, U.S. Foreign Policy
References: Nuno Monteiro, Alexandre Debs, Robert Jervis
Email:  tbowen8@jh.edu

Carmen Dege

Personal Website (link is external)
Dissertation Title: “The Ethos of Non-Indifference: Max Weber’s Challenge and Karl Jaspers’s Response”
Areas of Concentration: History of Political Thought, Critical Theory, Existentialism, Political Theology, (Post-)Metaphysical Thinking, Political Myth, Social Dissent
References:  Seyla Benhabib, Karuna Mantena, Giulia Oskian, Philip Gorski
Email:  carmend@vanleer.org.il

Eli Rau

Personal Website (link is external)
Dissertation Title: “Mobilization and Partisan Identities: A Comparative Study of Partisanship under Compulsory and Voluntary Voting”
Areas of Concentration: Comparative Politics, Political Economy, Formal Theory
Email:  elirau2@gmail.com

Matthew Shafer

Personal Website (link is external)
Dissertation Title: “What Violence Was: On the Limits of a Political Concept”
Areas of Concentration: Debates about violence and nonviolence; the politics of language; Frankfurt School and Marxian critical theory; feminist and queer theory; European and Anglo-American intellectual history
References: Seyla Benhabib (advisor), Paul North , Joseph Fischel , Karuna Mantena, Jeffrey Green
Email:  mshafer@ias.edu