Yale University, Respublica and the European Climate Foundation: “Toward Citizen-Legislators? The Case of the French Citizen’ Convention for Climate (2019-21)” Day 2.

Event time: 
Thursday, May 20, 2021 - 9:00am
Location: 
Zoom Session See map
Event description: 

Yale University, Respublica and the European Climate Foundation present a three day symposium: 

“Toward Citizen-Legislators?  The Case of the French Citizen’ Convention for Climate (2019-21).”

See the full schedule and register online at https://campuspress.yale.edu/citizenlegislators.

Second Session

The perspectives of the observers

  • Chair: Jane Mansbridge (Professor at the Harvard Kennedy School of Government)
  • Moderator: Gilles-Laurent Rayssac, President of Res publica

Speakers:

  •     Simon Baeckelandt (doctoral student, University of Lille) and Dimitri Courant (doctoral student, University of Lausanne & CRESPA): “L’impartialité introuvable? Influences légitimes et illégitimes au sein de la CCC”/ “Impossible Impartiality? Legitimate and illegitimate influences in the CCC”
  •     Eric Buge (French Council of State): “Comparaison entre la CCC et l’Assemblée nationale française”/ “A comparison between the CCC and the French National Assembly”
  •     Léo Cohen (member of the CCC’s ruling committee, independent consultant): “Le citoyen législateur, complément indispensable à une démocratie représentative rénovée?”/ “The citizen legislator, an indispensable complement to a renovated representative democracy?”
  •     Adrien Fabre (researcher at the Paris school of economics): “Who are the Citizens of the Convention for Climate?”/ “Who are the citizens of the French Convention for Climate?”
  •     Jean-Michel Fourniau (Research Directod at the IFSTTAR): “Gouverner une assemblée citoyenne? Retour sur le rôle du comité de gouvernance de la CCC”/ “Governing a Citizens’ Assembly. Analysis of the role of the CCC’s governance committee”
  •     Louis-Gaëtan Giraudet (researcher at the CIRED) et Hélène Guillemot (researcher at the Alexandre Koyré Centre: IFRIS): “The relationship between experts and citizens in the proposals of the group ‘Housing’ of the CCC”
  •     Hélène Landemore (Associate Professor of Political Science, with Tenure, Yale University): “Can citizens make the law? Evidence from the French CCC”
  •     Christiane Rafidinarivo (Associate Professor of Political Science, International Relations and Geopolitics at the Institute of Political Studies of Madagascar / CEVIFOP) : “Le tirage au sort fait-il justice épistémique? Le cas des citoyens ultramarins comme législateurs dans l’espace public politique de la Convention Citoyenne pour le Climat”/ “Does Random Selection Do Epistemic Justice? The Case of Ultra-Marine Citizens as Legislators in the political space of the CCC”

Panel of Citizens:

  • Amandine Roggeman (citizen, member of the CCC)
  •     William Aucant (citizen, member of the CCC)
  •     Guy Kulitza (citizen, member of the CCC)
  •     Claire Morcant (citizen, member of the CCC)

Schedule:

  •    3pm CET / 9am ET: Introduction to the second session (5 minutes)
  •     3:05pm CET / 9:05am ET: Summary of the researchers’ findings and observations (8 x 10 minutes)
  •     4:25pm CET / 10:25am ET: Dialogue with the audience (15 minutes)
  •     4:40pm CET / 10:40 am ET: The panel of citizens comments on the researchers’ findings and observations (4 x 5 minutes)
  •     5:00pm CET / 11:00 am ET: Dialogue with the audience (20 minutes)
  •     5:20pm CET / 11:20 pm ET: Open Debate (90 minutes)
  •     6:50pm CET / 12:50 pm ET: Conclusion of the second session – Jane Mansbridge
  •     7:00pm CET / 1:00 pm ET: End of the second session

 

Admission: 
Free but register in advance
Open to: 
General Public