Yale University, Respublica and the European Climate Foundation: “Toward Citizen-Legislators? The Case of the French Citizen’ Convention for Climate (2019-21)” Day 1.

Event time: 
Wednesday, May 19, 2021 - 9:00am
Location: 
Zoom Session See map
Event description: 

Yale University, Respublica and the European Climate Foundation present a three day symposium: 

“Toward Citizen-Legislators?  The Case of the French Citizen’ Convention for Climate (2019-21).”

See the full schedule and register online at https://campuspress.yale.edu/citizenlegislators.

First Session

The perspective of the stakeholders of the Citizens’ Convention for Climate (CCC)

  • Chair: Hélène Landemore (Associate Professor of Political Science at Yale University)
  • Moderator: Sophie Guillain, Executive director, Partner of Respublica

Screening of selected scenes from Yann Arthus-Bertrand’s documentary on the Convention (3 min)

Speakers:

  •    Eloïse (citizen, member of the CCC)
  •     Jean-Pierre (citizen, member of the CCC)
  •     Mélanie Blanchetot (citizen, member of the CCC)
  •     Mélanie Cosnier (citizen, member of the CCC)
  •     Cyril Dion (witness of the CCC – author & screenwriter) – to be confirmed
  •     Thierry Pech (Co-president of the ruling committee of the CCC – Head of Terra Nova)
  •     Gilles-Laurent Rayssac (coordinator of the CCC – President of Res publica)
  •     Sébastien Treyer (member of the CCC’s support group – Head of the IDDRI)

Schedule:

  • 3pm CET / 9am ET: Opening remarks and introduction – Hélène Landemore (10 minutes)
  • 3:10pm CET / 9:10am ET: 4 members of the CCC respond to 3 general questions (4 X 7 minutes):
    • What did you manage to accomplish during this experience?
    • From your experience, what does random sortition bring to the political process?
    • What role should citizens play in a renewed democracy?
  •     3:40pm CET / 9:40am ET: Dialogue with the audience (30 minutes)
  •     4:10pm CET / 10:10am ET: The other stakeholders respond to the same questions (5 x 7 minutes)
  •     4:45pm CET / 10:45 am ET: Dialogue with the audience (45 minutes)
  •     5:30pm CET / 11:30 am ET: Group work (by language) around the question: what can we learn from this experiment? (30 minutes)
  •     6pm CET / 12:00 pm ET: Each group shares their ideas (45 minutes / 1 or 2 idées per group, depending on the number of participants)
  •     6:45pm CET / 12:45 pm ET: Conclusion of the first session – Hélène Landemore
  •     7pm CET / 1:00 pm ET: End of the first session

 

Admission: 
Free but register in advance
Open to: 
General Public