Professor David Cameron on Canada’s Constitution

July 31, 2017

On July 1, while Americans prepared to celebrate the Fourth, Canadians celebrated Canada Day and, this year, the 150th anniversary of the British North America Act 1867. In that year, the British government combined the provinces of Canada, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia into a single federation of four provinces – Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia – governed by a constitution modeled largely on its own but modified to reflect the territorial and cultural particularities of the new country.