Conservative MPs choose Sunak and Truss as the two candidates to replace Johnson.



Liz Truss and Rishi Sunak, the candidates to succeed Boris Johnson as Conservative leader and Prime Minister in front of 10 Downing St.

The first round of the Conservatives' leadership race took place on July 13. The results were as follows: Rishi Sunak 88; Penny Mordaunt 67; Liz Truss 50; Kemi Badenoch 40; Tom Tugendhat 37; Suella Braverman 32; Nadhim Zahawi 25; and Jeremy Hunt 18. Zahawi and Hunt, having received less than 30 votes, were eliminated.

The second round of the Conservatives' leadership race took place on July 14. Sunak got 101, a gain of 13; Mordaunt got 83, a gain of 16; Truss got 64, a gain of 14; Badenoch got 49, a gain of 9; Tugendhat got 32, a loss of 5; and Braverman got 27, a loss of 5. Braverman was therefore eliminated. One development that day that, in all likelihood, had an impact on the final outcome was the strong criticism of Mordaunt by Lord David Frost, who had been the UK's chief negotiator of the EU-UK Withdrawal Agreement and the EU-UK Trade and Cooperation Agreement. In an interview. Frost, who is supporting Truss, said he has "grave reservations" about her becoming PM, that she "wouldn't always deliver tough messages to the EU when that was necessary," "wasn't fully accountable or always visible," and "did not master the necessary detail in the negotiations" when she deputized for him. He said he had urged Johnson to move her to another position.

The third round of the leadership race took place on July 18. 357 Conservative MPs voted. Sunak received 115 votes, an increase of 14 over his vote in the previous round. Penny Mordaunt received 82 votes, a drop of 1 from her vote in the previous round. Liz Truss received 71 votes, an increase of 7 over her vote in the previous round. Kemi Badenoch received 58 votes, an increase of 9 over her vote in the previous round. And Tom Tugendhat received 31 votes, a decrease of 1 from his vote in the previous round. In accordance with the rule established by the Conservatives' 1922 Committee that the candidate with the fewest votes would be eliminated from the next round, Tugendhat was eliminated.

The fourth round of the leadership race took place on July 19. 355 Conservative MPs voted. Sunak received 118 votes, an increase of 3 over his vote in previous round. Mordaunt received 92 votes, an increase of 10 over her vote in the previous round. Truss received 86 votes, an increase of 15 over her vote in the previous round. And Kemi Badenoch received 59 votes, an increase of 1 over her vote in the previous round. In accordance with the rule established by the Conservatives' 1922 Committee, having finished last, Badenoch was eliminated. A third televised debate planned for that evening between the three remaining candidates was cancelled after Sunak and Truss pulled out.

The fifth and last round of the leadership race took place on July 20. 355 Conservative MPs voted. Sunak received 137 votes, an increase of 19 over his vote in the previous round. Truss received 113 votes, an increase of 27 over her vote in the previous round. And Mordaunt received 105 votes, an increase of 13 over her vote in the previous round. Mordaunt was therefore eliminated. A postal vote of the party members will be conducted over the summer in which the members will be asked to indicate their preference for Sunak or Truss. The winner of that vote will become leader of the party and Prime Minister when the House of Commons reconvenes on September 5.

David R. Cameron July 20, 2022